“[…] the test of a civilization is the way that it cares for its helpless members.”

—Pearl Buck

About the Martinsville-Henry County Democratic Committee

The MHC Democrats are a diverse group of residents coming together over our shared values. We are your neighbors, co-workers, and community members who are working for a better future for everyone.

What We Do

  • Work to elect progressive leaders at the local, state, and federal level with character, integrity, vision, and a commitment to delivering results.
  • Run voter registration drives throughout the Martinsville-Henry County area.
  • Help recruit residents to work as election officials, or poll watchers to help ensure the integrity of our local voting places.
  • Find potential candidates to run on the Democratic ticket for state and federal elections.
  • Find new ways to be visible in the community to reduce the stigma of being progressive in a staunchly conservative district.
  • Participate in area protests and lobby days to show support for progressive policies.

Our Values

As the oldest continuous political party in the world, the Democratic Party has carried out its commitment to freedom, fairness, human rights, and responsible government for over 200 years. We pledge to continue this tradition.

The Democratic Party of Virginia is united in its efforts to elect Democratic leaders of character, integrity, ability, vision, and commitment to delivering results for Virginians. The Democratic Party of Virginia is the party that commits to delivering fiscal responsibility, ensuring excellence in education, reinvesting in our infrastructure, preserving a social safety network, providing accessible healthcare and creating economic opportunity for all Virginians.

We are dedicated to protecting our inalienable rights and constitutional freedoms that provide us the opportunity to improve the lives of others. We will work to elect leaders that will provide change through leadership that is both commonsense and results – oriented. As Democrats we know there is more that unites us rather than divides us. Working together, we make this Commonwealth and nation a stronger and better place for all.  

Committee Officers for 2024

Chairperson: Ashleigh Pritchard

Vice Chairperson: Chance Trevillian

Secretary: Melody Cartwright

Treasurer: This position is currently unfilled.

Area Represented

The MHC Democratic Committee represents all of Martinsville City and Henry County. Henry County includes the towns of Collinsville, Bassett, Stanleytown, Fieldale, Ridgeway, Axton, Horse Pasture, Spencer, and Chatmoss.

The City of Martinsville is in the 9th Congressional District, and beginning in 2024, Henry County also completely in the 9th Congressional Districts. It was previously split with the 5th Congressional District.

All of Martinsville and much of Henry County are part of the 48th Virginia House District. Western Henry County is now part of the 39th Virginia House District.

View the district maps here: https://www.elections.virginia.gov/casting-a-ballot/redistricting/interactive-map/

The Martinsville Democratic Committee and the Henry County Democratic Committee merged in 2010.

Join us:

Second Monday of each month


New College Institute, Room 104

Scroll to Top